Perry’s Last Practice and some draws (Gallery)

Eleven original members of the Uniondale Fire Dept. posed for a group photo recently. The Uniondale Fire Dept. officially began service 40 years ago, on Jan. 1, 1976. In 2009, they amalgamated with the Thamesford Fire Dept. and the Embro Fire Dept. to form the Zorra Fire and Emergency Services. Pictured left to right, in the front row, are Jim Muir, Perry Robinson, Deputy District Chief Ron King, Ernie Robinson and Deputy Chief (retired) Bob Greason. In the back row is Ken Taylor, John Hutton, Chief (retired) Ron Greason, Ken Kittmer, Don Gregory and George Whittaker. Absent were Captain (retired) John Muir and fire fighters Lyle Muir and Don Adams. Deceased are founding Chief Frank Rietmeyer and fire fighter Bill Reuvers.

Past and present members of the Uniondale Fire Dept./Uniondale Station gathered to honour Perry and Sharon Robinson at “Perry’s Last Practice” on Dec. 14. Perry retired on Jan. 1, 2016 after 40 years as a fire fighter. Joining Perry and Sharon at the ceremonies were their daughters Joanne, Caroline and Diana. Also attending were current and former members of the Township of Zorra Council, including Mayor Margaret Lupton, who made a presentation on behalf of the Township. Perry (left) accepted a commemorative plaque from his fellow Uniondale fire fighters, presented by Deputy District Chief Ron King, as Sharon looks on. Perry and Ron were the last two active founding members of the Uniondale Fire Dept.

St. Marys Building Centre employee Roy Guest, pictured, draws the name of the lucky winner of the custom-built toy chest that he built last year, also pictured. Roddy Doucette was chosen as the winner of the hardwood 46”x24” toy chest lined with aromatic cedar that Guest built, donating his own time, considerable talent and most of the materials. Tickets for the chest were on sale at Sam’s Home Hardware and St. Marys Building Centre since November last year. Proceeds from the raffle in the amount of $1,785 will go towards the St. Marys Memorial Foundation’s Someone I Know Capital Campaign.

St. Marys Rotary Club held its annual Christmas raffle on Monday, Dec. 21. Pictured is President Doug Goudy (right) and guest Grace Sherwin drawing winning tickets at Monday night’s meeting.
Following are the winners and designated prizes. The Rotary Club wishes to thank all those who purchased tickets or donated prizes for the annual fundraising raffle.
$500.00 in groceries from McDonald’s Independent Grocer – Joan Hahn; $250.00 certificate from Westover Inn – L & S Grant; $250.00 in gasoline from Graham Energy – Darcy Wheal; $250.00 in groceries from McDonald’s Independent Grocer – Mark Boersen; $250.00 in gasoline from Graham Energy – Andrea Dedlow; $250.00 in groceries from McDonald’s Independent Grocer – Marilyn Haywood.